Mayor Galvin, 27 Mass Mayors Push to Change Federal Drug Policy

From Mayor Scott Galvin’s Office:

Today, I am announcing that I have joined with 27 mayors from across Massachusetts to push for a federal law change to allow the Drug Enforcement Agency to pursue inappropriate wholesale prescription drug distribution, which fuels the opioid addiction epidemic that has afflicted cities throughout the Commonwealth and across the country.

“For the past several years, we and members of our communities have attended the funerals of friends, and the funerals of the children of friends, with sickening regularity,” the mayors wrote. “What we need and demand on the federal level is a Congress that will prioritize our families over the drug industry, a DEA with the enforcement authority and tools it needs to crack down on illegal corporate drug activity; and a drug czar committed to helping us in our fight instead of supporting industry profit at the expense of our children.”

In addition, on behalf of the City of Woburn I have entered into an agreement with the law firm of Rodman Rodman & Sandman to join in multi-district litigation which seeks to hold corporations that manufacture and distribute opioids responsible for the burdens that opioids have placed on Woburn, and other communities.

The letter, addressed to the President and Congress, urges that:

  • The next nominee for the nation’s drug czar be free of financial or other connections to the prescription drug distribution industry, and be of unassailable professional and personal character; and
  • That Congress repeal and replace the April 2016 law, passed through a parliamentary procedure without debate, that stripped the DEA of critical enforcement authority; the new law must give the DEA the authority to protect the interests of the public and simply cannot be bought and paid for by the legal drug distribution industry.

The list of signatories includes:


Mayor Richard Cohen, Agawam

Mayor Michael P. Cahill, Beverly

Mayor Joseph C. Sullivan, Braintree

Mayor Bill Carpenter, Brockton

Mayor E. Denise Simmons, Cambridge

City Manager Thomas G. Ambrosino, Chelsea

Mayor Carlo DeMaria, Everett

Mayor Jasiel F. Correia II, Fall River

Mayor Stephen L. DiNatale, Fitchburg

Mayor Sefatia Romeo Theken, Gloucester

Mayor William F. Martin, Greenfield

Mayor James F. Fiorentini, Haverhill

Mayor Dan Rivera, Lawrence

Mayor Gary Christenson, Malden


Mayor Arthur Vigeant, Marlborough

Mayor Stephanie Muccini Burke, Medford

Mayor Robert J. Dolan, Melrose

Mayor Jon Mitchell, New Bedford

Mayor Donna D. Holaday, Newburyport

Mayor Setti Warren, Newton

Mayor Richard J. Alcombright, North Adams

Mayor Ted Bettencourt, Peabody

Mayor Linda M. Tyer, Pittsfield

Mayor Brian M. Arrigo, Revere

Mayor Domenic J. Sarno, Springfield

Mayor Thomas C. Hoye, Jr., Taunton

Mayor William Reichelt, West Springfield

Mayor Scott D. Galvin, Woburn