Cultural Council


The Woburn Cultural Council is composed of 7 volunteers who promote the work of the Council, create and communicate Council Priorities and Guidelines, and follow the Mass Cultural Council’s Annual Calendar.

Council Priorities

Cultural Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion: Projects that elevate the voices and experiences of historically-marginalized groups to highlight the current and historical diversity of Woburn.

Council Guidelines

The Woburn Cultural Council supports community cultural projects through its two grant programs, the LCC and the Field Trip grant programs. The Massachusetts Cultural Council is the governing organization from which funds are derived. The Commonwealth has guidelines to which the local council must adhere. Woburn’s guidelines are in addition to those of the state. The Woburn Cultural Council Guidelines are specific criteria that Woburn’s local cultural council has determined will enhance and encourage cultural events within our community. The Cultural Council will do its best to fund projects that benefit the greatest number of people, while offering variety to all ages.

  1. Applications must be input into the grant system by October 17, 2022. Incomplete and/or incorrect applications will not be considered. (Applications are available online only)
  2. Applicants should have an arranged handicap accessible venue for their activity and date or general timeframe.
  3. Priority will be given to local artists/performers.
  4. Grantee must include Massachusetts Cultural Council logo and a statement acknowledging that “The project is supported by the Woburn Cultural Council a local agency supported by the Massachusetts Cultural Council.” in all promotional material/publicity.

Important Dates

Application Opens: September 1, 2022

Info Session: September 13, 2022

Application Deadline: October 17, 2022

LCCs Annual Report Due: January 17, 2023

Links to Resources

Massachusetts Cultural Council:

The Application Process:

How to Apply for Grant (Mass Cultural Council YouTube Video):


Board Members

Joe Flaherty, Chair

Bettyanne Cassidy, Member

Christine Coakley, Member

Julie Gage, Member

Hermayne Gordon, Member

Lisa McNulty, Member

John Sawyer, Member